Comprehensive Plan Update

DRAFT PLAN SURVEY - Through an online survey, the committee is sharing a draft Comprehensive Plan Lower Providence 2040 vision and the proposed strategies for reaching that vision. Your questions and feedback are important to us, and help to shape this plan. The web survey is open now through July 10th. 

Thank you to everyone who attended the Open House and provided feedback on the draft Comprehensive Plan!

The open house was held as a pair of sessions on May 4th, 2022. The first session ran from 3 PM to 5 PM and the second from 6 PM to 8 PM. The open house was split in this way to make it more accessible to a wider range of community members. Attendees were invited to visit stations dedicated to different subjects covered by the comprehensive plan and indicate their preferred recommendations using sticker dots.

Lower Providence Township has embarked on a comprehensive plan update that will lay the foundation for our community for the next 10+ years. Comprehensive planning is a public process that seeks input from the public at each step of the way and citizen input is critical to a successful comprehensive plan. Professional planners from the Montgomery County Planning Commission will work with the members of a steering committee made up of Township officials and community members representing a diverse mix of interests, professional experiences and demographics.

A comprehensive plan is a policy document adopted by a municipality that includes background information on the municipality’s past, analysis of current issues and trends, a vision for the future, and recommendations to reach the desired goals and objectives toward the vision. The plan provides guidance for future development, road improvements, parks, recreation, sidewalks, trail facilities, infrastructure improvements, zoning changes, and similar topics. The plan assists with establishing funding sources for implementation and a sound basis for recommended changes.


Board Members

Name Title
Peter MacFarland Steering Committee Member
Cara Coless Steering Committee Member